Scientists: Why I Marched

Below is a collection of images from scientists who marched somewhere in the country on January 21, 2017. I had asked for a photo and a few words. Thank you to all who contributed. It’s nice to be in such good, positive company, these days. Feel free to send your photo and thoughts, and I will add them.

wetland-biologist-geomorphologist-hydrogeologist-restoration-hydrogeologist-hydrogeologist-freshwater-researcher-and-educator-bottom-helena-montana

Here’s a photo of 6 scientists marching in Helena, Montana (pop. 30,000) with 10,000 fellow marchers (1 of every 100 Montanans!), at 19 degrees F.  I am a hydrogeologist. With me in this photo are a wetland scientist/biologist, a fluvial geomorphologist, a restoration hydrologist, another hydrogeologist, and a freshwater researcher and educator.  We’re part of a larger Montana group called the Water Babes, which until now focused on mentoring and networking.  This is our first political action, and it happened organically.  No one declared, “the Water Babes must march.”  We just did.

 

daughter-of-an-immigrant-scientist-mother-proud-american-this-is-my-country-earth-scientist-dc-march-traveled-from-no

This is a photo of me, Nicole Gasparini, a geomorphologist from New Orleans, LA, at the Washington, D.C. march. I am holding my 2 year old daughter Florence. I marched because I want my son and daughter to know- all children to know- that regardless of a person’s sex, sexual orientation, skin color, cultural background, religion, education, age, place of birth, ability or disability- all people deserve respect. All people deserve opportunities. All people deserve health care. We all need to stand up and support each other. Facts are facts. There are no alternative facts. Science is real, not a partisan agenda. Science makes our lives better, and I want a better world for all our children.

three-generations-of-women-scientists-march-on-dc-4

Judith S. Weis: Marine Biology and Ecotoxicology. I marched in Washington, D.C.

I marched because I am very concerned about the future with a climate-denying, webpage censoring, federal-scientist gagging, first amendment-ignoring, “alternative-fact”
supporting group running the country.
immunologist-future-plant-scientist-chicago-march

We marched in Chicago. I am an immunologist. My thoughts: I didn’t carry a sign. Instead, I carried my 5 year old daughter who wants to be a plant scientist and deserves to have dominion over her body. Her parents will fight like hell to make sure she gets those things.

Women's March-AnnArbor-2017

E. LaPorte: Science Outreach Manager. Ann Arbor Women’s March.

sarah-dcsarah-2-dc

Sarah Noble: I am a lunar geologist with a PhD in geological sciences. I marched in DC.

evolutionary-biologist-colorado-or-dc

Here is an image of me (“Make America Think Again”) at the Women’s March. I am an evolutionary biologist at Colorado State University. We marched in Denver.

sophie-and-me

Emily Monosson, Toxicologist, with daughter Sophie, future scientist. I planned on marching shortly after the election, for women’s rights. But when making a sign, I wanted to say something about the lack of regard for science by this administration and its supporters which saddens and frustrates me. I had been feeling helpless, wondering what I could do. This was the first time I had ever attended anything like this. It will not be the last. Knowing so many are willing to speak out for a better future…is hopeful. We marched in DC.

evolutionary-ecologist-dc-march-janiceJanice Bossart: Evolution and Ecology. Marched in Washington, D.C. Science is not a liberal conspiracy!

evolutionary-ecologist-dc-march

Jeannine Cavender-Bares: We marched in DC. My field is plant ecology and evolution; University of Minnesota, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
I am thinking about how to train the next generation of citizens and scientists in a world where we all depend on science but its complexities are increasingly difficult to traverse. My students are discussing the issues of when science can change people’s behaviors and how we generate and communicate science that is credible, salient and legitimate. Despite the current Administration’s disregard for science and access to scientific information, it is is critical for managing a habitable planet. The other person in the photo is my daughter, who is very interested in science, particularly in how to generate clean water in remote areas.

 

human-genetics-boston-ma

My field is  human genetics. We marched in Boston, MA.

immunologist-others-new-orleans-march

We are an Organic Chemist, an Ecologist/Sci. Educator, a Molecular Immunologist, and a Social Psychologist. We marched in New Orleans to show our concern and support on a variety of issues, and we are looking forward to the March for Science Louisiana in New Orleans and Baton Rouge.
march-for-science-log

epidimiologist-los-angeles

Chelsea Schafer:  Public Health Scientist. We marched in Los Angeles

I took part in the Los Angeles march to make a statement in my concerns for the future of STEM. In a time of uncertainty and instability, when the ability of federal agencies to operate effectively is compromised, it is critical that we band together for a greater cause. Continued funding for evidence based research is still greatly needed if we are to continue. I hope that we can make a difference in this world by influencing one another through STEM and bridging the gaps in knowledge.

env-science-computer-science-and-robotics-sustainability-boston

Jennie Stephens: my daughter Anna Bolon (age 16 interested in computer science and robotics – in the middle) and Cecelia Bolon (age 17 interested in environmental science – on the right). My field of science is Sustainability Science and/or environmental science. We marched in Boston.

susi-san-francisco

Susi Moser: My field is Climate Change Adaptation. I marched in San Francisco.
I knew I was going to the March in Washington the day it was announced. Bought tickets for me and my partner. Both of us ended up with health issues which is why we couldn’t go to DC. (An expensive and emotional loss…). So we ended up going to a march nearby. We chose the one we expected to be the biggest (it ended up being at least twice as big as expected), i.e. in San Francisco.
I’m a social scientist, my partner a humanist, both of us working on climate change. But our reason for going was solidarity with women, anyone whose civil rights or immigrant rights are at risk under this new administration, solidarity with those willing to look reality squarely in the eye and fight for the survival of life on Earth. We wanted to be part of the beginning of a history-changing movement.

 

ecology-and-botany-dc

Allison Snow: my field is Plant Evolutionary Ecology.  I live in Ohio and marched in DC.

ecologists-oakland-ca

Ecologists Michael Loik and Karen Holl march with their son in Oakland, CA. We marched for future generations. Our sign pretty much says it all.

developmental-psychologist-albany-ny

Kathleen Crowley: Developmental Psychologist.  I marched on the capitol in Albany, NY against he who would be king. In addition to resisting Trump’s xenophobia and corruption, we must always defend scientific findings, access to data, and actual facts.

1-md-4-jds-1-phd-and-1-c-level-executive-in-dc

Judy Lytle: my field is Non-Profit Business Development. We flew in from Seattle for the DC March. I’m the one in the pink and black striped hat. I am a Director at a Research Institute in Seattle. AND: I’m concerned about what censorship of actual scientific data will do in a climate of partisan and, quite frankly, fake news. Science is meant to be open and collaborative. Current steps toward hiding data will have an effect at the local, national, and international level

andrea-knitted-hats-and-shared-with-a-family-in-the-metro-parking-lot
Andrea Kalfoglou: Associate Professor, Health Administration & Policy Program, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Department of Sociology/Anthropology. I knitted all these hats and shared with a family in the metro parking lot. I was going to do a sign that said “Science isn’t a liberal conspiracy,” but I did healthcare and climate change instead.

chemical-oceanographer-future-city-planner-respect-your-mother-san-jose-ca

Kendra Zamzow: This photo is of my sister, Heidi Zamzow, Chemical Oceanography, MS; with her son Kevin. They marched in San Jose, California
She didn’t make a sign, but wish she had made one as:
“Respect your Mother” and it would be on a sign that was shaped like the symbol for female (you know, the circle with the cross underneath it) with the earth (think Big Blue Marble) as the circle.

My field of science is Cell Biology (BA), Fisheries (life experience/commercial fisherman), and Environmental Chemistry (PhD). I marched in Modesto, CA (which is not where I live)

Science is a method to verify the truthiness of statements.  We should not be vilified when people don’t like what we find, nor should we be propped up as talking heads when our results coincide with a political view — both are becoming the norm and that is a very worrisome direction for our society. The sign I wrote said “Climate Disruption Harms Girls”
mcpheeshaw_anacortesmarchjan2017

I am a Physical Oceanographer.We marched in Anacortes, Washington.

This is the back of a crowd looking inward trying to hear the speeches going on inside the meeting area. The group was way too big to fit inside the park where the original gathering was planned for, so we were all outside on the street and couldn’t participate in the starting rally.  We live in Anacortes, population between 16K to 17K. Once the march got started going down town streets, marchers were counted as 1,200.

I have no specific message other than solidarity with all the messages expressed across the world on Jan 20 and 21.

lori-verbrugge

 Lori Verbrugge, Ph.D: environmental toxicologist.  My family marched in Anchorage, Alaska.  Our group included three generations of women, including my mom and my 16-year-old daughter.  My husband and son marched with us, too.  We marched to speak out against policies of prejudice, intolerance and hatred, and to promote a well-educated society that makes decisions based on sound science.
